skip to Main Content
Stay updated: Subscribe to podcast

No One To Comfort (Lamentations 1)

The book of Lamentations is a funeral dirge. We read five poems written about the author’s grief and pain over the destruction of Jerusalem and the destruction of God’s temple. Yet these poems are not the ramblings of one man’s pain. The structure of this poetry reveals a carefully thought response to grief in which the author takes us on his journey through grief and pain. This brings us to the first poem, Lamentations 1, an acrostic where each verse begins with the successive letter of the Hebrew alphabet. As we study, please remember that the first poem does not have all the answers but is the starting point for a godly handling of grief and pain.

To read more of this lesson click here.

Back To Top